Give Some Indie Author Love

Indie authors have a bit of a tough time selling books.  They don’t have the resources publishers have to advertise and get books into bookstores.  They do have the internet, social media, and online booksellers like Amazon and Barnes & Noble, though.

I think one way readers can help is to review their books. I’ve always got an indie novel going in my Kindle app.  I’m currently reading The Sword and the Dragon by M. R. Mathias.  So far, I’m enjoying it.

Other recent indie authors I’ve read and featured on this blog include S. R. Ford, Ashley Setzer, J. Thorn, and Jason Halstead.  I encourage you to check them all out, so I’ve linked their names to their Goodreads pages so you can see what they’ve written.  Also, here are their official websites:  S. R. Ford, Ashley Setzer, J. Thorn, and Jason Halstead.  I encourage you to check out their websites and Goodreads profile and buy their books!

Now, what I’d like you to do is leave a comment.  Do you have a favourite indie author you think needs more love?  Then post a link to their website and/or Goodreads page.  Are you an indie author?  Feel free to promote yourself, as well!  I’ll make a post in the coming week with your suggestions. So please post!

Camp NaNoWriMo

A year and a half ago, I joined National Novel Writing Month.  I dropped out within a few days realising how little time I had to participate.  Well, I’ve decided to join Camp NaNoWriMo, and kind of scaled down version where you set your own limit and write whatever you like.  The main NaNoWriMo event in November has a fixed target of 50,000 words, which is a short novel.

For the camp, I’ve set my target as 15,000 words and my category as fantasy short stories.  I have a few ideas I’ve been wanting to work on, and this will give me that opportunity.  What’s interesting about Camp NaNoWriMo is that you are assigned to cabins in groups of 12.  You can even request to join others by username.  If you want to join my cabin, my username is jay-dee.  I’ll need to see your username as well if we want to get grouped together.  The deadline is March 25th.  The camp begins at the beginning of April.

Hope to see you there.