Blog by the Numbers

I love statistics.  I often look at numbers whenever I can.  I want to see how they change and look for reasons why.  I also enjoy seeing other bloggers post their numbers.  It’s just fascinating to me.

So, here are some statistics related to this blog.  First, let’s look at the number of views.

Since I started this blog in January 2012, I have reached a total of 9,744 views.  This isn’t a big amount.  My Japan blog has far, far more views, and regularly outperforms this blog even when I don’t update it while posting daily here.  My audience is steadily growing here, though.  Before November 2013, my best month was July 2012, when I did a post a day.  I had 512 views that month.  In November 2013, I did another post a day and had 730 views.  The majority of those views came in the last half of November.  December 2013 was a great month, because I continued posting on a daily basis, and achieved 1,152 views.  I continued doing the same for January and got my best month to date at 1,259 views.  February dropped a lot because I didn’t post much.  I had computer problems and I was preparing for my sister’s visit.  I had only 551 views.  This month isn’t finished, and I already have more than 1,000 views. This year, I have more views in this past 3 months than I had in all of 2012.  I’m on pace for 11,680 views this year, though it’ll likely be more.

I love comments.  This blog currently has 1,077 comments.  But who comments?  My top 5 commenters are:

  1. Carl V. Anderson
  2. winterbayne
  3. Sierra
  4. kamo
  5. Tom

Who views my blog?  The top 5 countries of my readers are:

  1. United States (4,213 views)
  2. Japan (1,665 views)
  3. Canada (946 views)
  4. United Kingdom (533 views)
  5. Australia (305 views)

Rounding out the top 10 are: South Korea, India, New Zealand, Germany, and Norway.

My top 5 viewed posts this year are:

  1. Book Review – Macbeth (198 views)
  2. What does an earthquake feel like? (168 views)
  3. INTJ – An Analysis of My Personality (128 views)
  4. The Best and the Worst of 2013 (69 views)
  5. Are Writers Introverts or Extroverts? (39 views)

Interesting that a review is my top viewed page.  And it’s Shakespeare!  But the second highest is actually a long-time favourite of my readers.

Going off this blog for a bit, let’s look at a couple other things.  First of all is my Twitter account.  I currently have 1,829 followers, and the number is growing quite steadily.  It’s been increasing more quickly recently.  I should be reaching the magic 2,000 barrier fairly soon.  On Twitter, I have made 5,485 tweets.

Looking at Alexa, this blog’s global rank is 3,464,696.  In the past 3 months, I’ve improved by 91,163 places.

On YouTube, since I’ve been pretty inactive and have merely used it for some rather random and unimpressive videos, none of my videos have more than 1,000 views.  My most popular video has 749 views, and it shows what I see during a lull in a typhoon.

In the future, I’m going to be very interested in seeing how my book sales go.  It just seems really interesting to me.