Thanks for Visiting, Even for Just One Time

I’m fascinated by statistics.  WordPress does a good job with providing stats for blogs, and one that’s interesting is the Views by Country stat.  I get a lot of views from a handful of countries.

There are two countries in particular that I get about half of my traffic.  Those are the USA and Japan.  The first is obvious, as most English speaking internet users are American.  As for Japan, well, I live in Japan.  A lot of my regular readers are foreigners based in Japan.  The third country also takes a good chunk of my views.  That’s Canada, my home country.  Most of my views are probably from friends and family.  The next two also are pretty significant, the UK and Australia.  They’re both English speaking countries.

Then things drop off quickly and it’s mostly non-English speaking countries, though there are some that speak English.  Rounding out my top 20 are:  Germany, Norway, India, the Philippines, France, Singapore, Greece, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Italy, South Korea, Brazil, Ireland, Taiwan, and Spain.  Most of them are pretty populous countries or have a good number of English speakers.

But what about the countries I’ve had only one visit from?  I’d like to give them some love.  There are 18 countries (although two are overseas territories) that have had a single person visit this blog only once.  And for this list, I’m going to link to a blog post related to each place, if one exists.  Maybe you’ll find an interesting new blog.

  1. Kenya (English speaking African country)
  2. Moldova (not very well-known, but was part of the USSR)
  3. Bosnia and Herzegovina (formerly part of Yugoslavia)
  4. Jordan (would love to see Petra)
  5. Honduras (Spanish-speaking Central American country)
  6. Bermuda (not a country, but a British territory)
  7. Sri Lanka (island country south of India)
  8. Mongolia (I find this country fascinating for some reason)
  9. Sierra Leone (African country that had a civil war 11 years ago)
  10. Mauritius (small country in the Indian Ocean that was home to the dodo)
  11. Papua New Guinea (north of Australia and shares an island with Indonesia)
  12. Reunion (an overseas department of France)
  13. Tunisia (north African country where parts of Star Wars was filmed)
  14. Czech Republic (surprisingly few people from this eastern European country visited this blog)
  15. Malta (English speaking island country in the Mediterranean)
  16. Belarus (a former Soviet republic)
  17. Trinidad and Tobago (an English speaking Caribbean country)
  18. Nigeria (an African English speaking country with plenty of difficulties)

I hope you found something interesting in those countries.  Oh, and please come back here for a visit!