A Post a Day – What I’ve Learned

Thank you everyone for following me through November.  It was a very quick month, and I successfully posted every day this month.  This is the final post of the month.

So, what did I learn?

In the beginning, I started a series about how to establish a colony on another planet.  I did some research to find out what’s feasible and what’s not.  I found it to be an interesting and useful exercise, especially for my own writing.

I also went through a marketing discovery.  I knew all about these websites, but I found that Reddit is extremely valuable, as long as you don’t flood them with links to your own blog. But honestly, you’re limited as to how much you can submit there.  StumbleUpon is good, though doesn’t generate as many visits as Reddit does.  But you can submit as much as you want.  But the big thing is that as long as I’m posting regularly, I get regularly higher views.  But that’s not exactly rocket science, is it?  This has been my best month in terms of readership by far.  The last time I had a jump in readers was when I did another post a day month.  This month, I’ve had nearly as many view as I had in all of August, September, and October put together.  Best of all, it keeps growing!  The past week has been my best ever.

So, what does this mean for the next month?  I’m going to continue posting at least 5 times a week.  I will be getting back to posting reviews, now that The 2014 Sci-Fi Experience is starting.  I will be posting new interviews.  And over on my official website, I’ll start writing the Ariadne Encyclopedia.

Just one other thing.  This is a very odd statistic that I noticed.  Ever since I wrote the post about population growth in a colony, I’ve been getting an increase in the number of people reading from South Korea.  The numbers coincide every day.  Is there a Korean search engine that picked that up and ranked it high?

Anyway, thank you very much for reading.  My readers are part of the reason I write (the other reason being because I want to).  Most of all, I enjoy engagement in the comments.  So, please comment whenever you see something interesting.  Let’s keep writing!