Natural Talent

Is there something that you just seem to have a knack for? Something you don’t have to concentrate on very hard to do well? Or is it more than one thing?

Ever since I was young, I’ve always been very good with maps. Geography was something I enjoyed a lot, and would capture my attention all the time. Any map was fine. Got a map of Delaware? I’d go over it and study it. In fact, I have a map of Delaware in my mind right now.  I know have a map of the United States in my mind with the location of Delaware, which is next to Maryland. It’s pretty small. You might miss it.

It’s not just country maps, but also local maps. If I drive or walk somewhere, my mind creates a map. If I’ve already seen a map of the area, it’s much easier. But when I combine looking at a map and exploring the area on foot, I completely memorise the area. I only need to do it once. Any time I go to that area, the map pops up in my mind, and I have an bird’s eye view of the area. I know exactly where I am and where to go.

I have no idea why I can do this. I seem to know where everything is. If I want to think about which direction something is, my mind calls up a map of the area, and I immediately know which way it is. It’s kind of strange, isn’t it?

But that’s not all.  I’m also very good at spelling.  But you may have noticed that I tend to use the British spelling, which is more common in Canada.

What about you? What’s your natural talent?

8 thoughts on “Natural Talent”

  1. I think my natural talent is sports. I’m not great at them, mind you. But I pick them up fairly quickly. I can play almost any sport with mild confidence. If I’ve never played it, usually I can pick it up after watching it for a bit.

    1. Then you have a very good understanding of how things work. Which is nice. I can usually pick things up quickly, but being confident about it, no. I understand tennis quite well, but I can’t hit the ball over the net. But then, I’ve only tried once, and that was in high school.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.