Where Are All the Female Epic Fantasy Authors?

When you think of epic fantasy, what authors come to mind? Robert Jordan? George R. R. Martin? J. R. R. Tolkien? Men. It always seems to be male authors. So, where are the female epic fantasy authors?

Here’s a list of them on Reddit. Oh, C. J. Cherryh. C. S. Friedman’s a woman? I didn’t know that. I know Jacqueline Carey and Janny Wurts. There’s Lois McMaster Bujold. N. K. Jemisin is a newer one, and she’s African American, too! And there’s Robin Hobb. Did you know she’s a woman? There are some big names there, but the list is incredibly short.

On Leona Henry’s blog, I found that list, and her post inspired me to write this. It’s unfortunate that female fantasy authors seem to be stereotyped as YA authors or romance authors. It’s a shame that epic fantasy novels written by female authors have romance style covers when there is no romance in the novel.  Sounds like publishers are to blame with that.

I want to see more epic fantasy novels written by female authors. Although not really fantasy, one of my favourite authors is Anne McCaffrey, and she had some wonderful books based on the world of Pern. They are dragon-themed, but it is science fiction. I want more variety in the books I’ve been reading. It just seems I pick up books that look good based on the description and cover, and pass over the ones that look like they’re more romantic. I see the error in that now.

There’s another thing that I’ve been inspired to do. You see at the top of the page, a menu option called Reviews? I’m going to add another page that lists books by the author’s gender. As I tend to read mainly science fiction and fantasy, you’ll get to have a good list of female authors as I read their books. So, if that page isn’t there now, it will be shortly. I’ll get that done within the next hour, I think.

And I think I’m going to try get into using Reddit, especially the fantasy and science fiction sections.

So, I would like to ask you a question. Which female epic fantasy authors would you recommend? Let me know in the comments.

The Pluto Flyby in One Beautiful Video

It’s been a while since I posted about the Pluto flyby of New Horizons.  What’s making me write this post is an amazing video I saw of Pluto. It’s very short, so it won’t take up more than a few seconds of your time. Trust me, it looks great. In only 16 seconds, you will see 2 hours of images put together in a beautifully done animation.

This video was made by Bjorn Jonsson, and there are more videos on his Vimeo page. Here’s a quick video of Charon’s rotation.

And another of Pluto’s rotation.

Although these are short videos, a lot of work would be put into them. The frames would have to be aligned so that there’s no wobble and they’d also have to be scaled so they’re all exactly the same size.  Any gaps could be filled in with computer animation, but everything you see in these videos is real. He did a wonderful job, I think.

What did you think of the videos?