Talking to Authors

Many readers would love to talk to their favourite authors. With the internet, it’s quite possible to have that chance. But it depends on the author, as well. Some are very open to talking to their readers and easy to contact. However, others are quite busy and not at all easy to get in touch with. Some have other people handle their correspondence.

I’ve spoken with a couple authors who are well-known or relatively well-known within their genres. One is Alastair Reynolds. He wrote the Revelation Space series. The other is Michael J. Sullivan. He wrote the Riyria series (and is still writing in that series). Michael has contributed on this blog, as well. There are many others I would like to talk to, and maybe I will in the future.

Which authors have you spoken to (in person or by email is fine), and who would you like to talk to? Let me know in the comments!

Change of Weather, Change of Feelings

Although it’s still summer, the air has changed. Around mid-August, the winds change to being cooler, relieving us of the oppressive heat. It’s still hot and humid, but at least the wind is no longer hot. People’s feelings become lighter and going out isn’t as difficult.

For me, I’m finding that this change has coincided with a change in my online attitude. I’m feeling energised. I want to work on YouTube videos. I want to get involved in new things, such as Reddit, as well as start organising Pinterest more effectively. I guess you could say I’m feeling even more social online.

As far as YouTube goes, I’m planning on making a lot of videos of places I visit while my sister is here. But also when I visit different places with my family or myself.

On Reddit, I want to get involved in discussions in the writing, fantasy, and science fiction sections.

On Pinterest, I want to create new boards and categorise my posts more effectively, as well as pin other people’s pins. That should draw more people to my boards.

There are other things I want to do, but these are the most immediate.

Anyone feeling motivated lately?