Authors Answer 51 – Halloween Costumes

Halloween is in a week, so in preparation, we authors have to prepare our literary costumes. Some of us may wear costumes, while others won’t. But no matter whether we wear one or not, this is what we’d like to wear.

640px-Pumpkin_craft_for_HalloweenQuestion 51 – Halloween is coming up. If you were to wear a costume, which character from any book would you like to dress up as?

Linda G. Hill

I’d love to be Gandalf. I should have started the beard-growing a long time ago though. 😉 Failing that being authentic enough, I’ve always loved old Gothic dresses, so perhaps a woman out of an old vampire novel. Fangs optional.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

Yikes…dress up as a character in a book? I can think of about a million TV shows and movies that I’d have a much easier time choosing from, to be honest! But I guess it would be pretty fun to dress up as Bellatrix Lestrange from the Harry Potter books. I could run around with a wand, scaring the hell out of all the little Gryffindors. XD

Gregory S. Close

I would love to have a full suit of (Star Wars) Republic Commando armor, complete with personalized markings and a nice glowing face plate.  Maybe even a nice voice modulator in the helmet.  That would be tons of fun, help sate my Star Wars cosplay cravings, but not fade into the background with all the other Stormtroopers and BobaFetts running around.

D. T. Nova

The Cowardly Lion, partially to make up for writing a character who “should” have worn that costume but picked something entirely different.

Jean Davis

I’d probably go with someone from Game Of Thrones, like Melisandre, because she has some great memorable lines and is easily recognizable.

Allen Tiffany

Hmm… Last year I was Calvin of Calvin and Hobbs. That was fun. Had not thought about this year yet… Maybe something retro. Spiderman? I need to think on this one for a while.

Eric Wood

This year our two sons are dressing as minions (I seriously can’t wait so I can share pictures of them with you). My wife found a banana costume and I’ll be Gru. Despicable Me was a book, wasn’t it? Right now I’m reading “The Martian” and I’m really into it so I guess I’d be an astronaut. I’d have to find myself a Sojourner for a prop, though. My other idea is to go as the Gruffalo.

Elizabeth Rhodes

I hate to jump on a literary bandwagon, but I’d probably dress up as Arya Stark from A Song of Ice and Fire.  She’s my favorite character in the series because I can relate to her so much, and she’s a badass.  I think I can pull off her character nicely.

Caren Rich

Oh, that’s hard. Arwen, from Lord of the Rings, would be fun. I’ve always wanted to dress as an elf.

Paul B. Spence

Kip Kinnison, Grey Lensman.

If you mean a character from my books, then Daeren Drake.

S. R. Carrillo

I would love to play my own character, Ero. I prolly couldn’t do him much justice, but with curly blond hair and red eyes and wings, it would sure make an interesting outfit.

H. Anthe Davis

I have always had a vague urge to cosplay, but never the time or dedication (or $$) to actually do it.  And seeing as I’m a redhead, my automatic options tend to be characters I find deeply aggravating.  Curse you, fantasy redhead fetishism!  A redheaded character in Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard series actually pointed that out — while also kind of embodying it, so though she’s interesting, I wouldn’t want to be her either.

Thus why, when I contemplate Ren Faires and conventions and Halloween and other such costumey situations, I never have a character I want to be — I just plot vaguely to cover myself in chainmail.  I like chainmail.

Jay Dee Archer

I’ve never really been one to want to dress up for Halloween as an adult. I did when I was a kid, though. But who would I dress up as? Although this isn’t strictly literary, I’m a big fan of Star Trek. There are many novels in the Star Trek universe, so this counts. I would not be a red shirt! Most likely, I’d have a blue uniform, possibly being Spock. I think I’d do that. I’d be Spock. Especially this year with the passing of Leonard Nimoy.

How about you?

What’s everyone planning to dress up as? If you aren’t, what would you like to dress up as for Halloween? Let us know in the comments below. I wonder if anyone has any Halloween photos they’re willing to share.

Two Weeks Without Reading

It’s been more than two weeks since I read a book. I used to go months without reading at times, but that hasn’t happened in a few years. In at least the past five years, I’ve read books nearly every day, sometimes going a couple days without reading anything. But this time, I went two weeks without reading.

I’ve come to the conclusion that reading is like an addictive drug. I have a strong desire to read right now, and I want to immerse myself in another world as soon as possible. I find that seeing the world or another world from the eyes of other people is incredibly desirable. I want to know how they see things, how they feel, and how they do things. I want to read now!

It’s also been two weeks since I’ve done normal updates on this blog. Of course, I’ve kept to two posts per day, but they’ve been short, and just like my reading, the number of people reading my blog has dropped drastically. But I think this also has to do with the fact that I haven’t been responding to comments in a timely manner while my sister’s been here.  Well, now that she’s gone back to Canada, I’ll get back to work on providing bigger and better posts. Not only will I be reading books again, but you’ll be reading more from this blog.

So, how were your last two weeks?