Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 35

It’s been more than a week since the last group, so here’s the next one. The previous one didn’t get nearly as many votes as usual, so I think it may have gotten lost in some people’s newsfeeds. Please check it out and vote if you haven’t done so.

This next group features some nighttime shots, daytime shots, and even a little experimentation with tilt-shift. I got some interesting results, and I hope you enjoy them.

The rules are simple. I post 10 of my Instagram photos every few days, and you get to vote on your favourites. It’s multiple choice, so please vote for 2 to 4 photos (3 is ideal). Leave a comment saying why you voted the way you did. The poll comes after the photos.

Here are the photos:

 

And now the vote. Please vote for your favourite photos (ideally 3, but anywhere between 2 and 4):

 

Please leave a comment saying why you voted the way you did. I’m interested in knowing what you think. Thanks!

Science Sunday – A Year in Space

Continuing this ongoing weekly series, I share a major science news story from the past week, but I let the video tell the story.

This week, American astronaut Scott Kelly and Russian cosmonaut Mikhail Kornienko returned to Earth after spending 340 days on the International Space Station. This mission is especially interesting because Kelly’s twin brother, Mark Kelly, was down here on Earth, and they’re comparing the changes in Scott’s body with his twin. This mission was a year-long experiment to help prepare for the upcoming manned Mars mission. You can read NASA’s story on this mission here.

The video is a bit long, but it shows you the return of Kelly and Kornienko to Earth.

Scott Kelly says that he has mixed feelings about the end of the mission. I can understand that, having mixed feelings about our move to Canada. He’s lived on the station for nearly a year, and it had become his home.

Comments are greatly appreciated! Would you consider spending a year, or even just a month, in space? Let me know in the comments below.