Puzzles and Sukiyaki

It was a day of cleaning. Lots of bags ready to go out to the garbage. That was all done in the morning. But the afternoon, four hours to be exact, I spent time going through my daughter’s puzzles and putting them together.

What in the world was I doing playing with her puzzles? Well, she’s lost a lot of pieces, and I was checking to see what’s missing. Well, there are still some missing pieces, so I’ll be looking for them as we clean the living room and sort her toys. Maybe I’ll find them all. I hope so. She loves puzzles.

Anyway, dinner tonight is sukiyaki with wagyuu, which is Japanese beef. You know, the expensive stuff. But don’t worry, I didn’t buy it. It was a gift. It tastes amazing!

20160314-192430-69870677.jpg

And yes, that orange stuff on the bottom right of the picture is raw egg. That’s something I got used to eating in Japan. Makes sukiyaki taste great!

What’s In a Family Name?

Family names are interesting. In many cultures, they tell a story about your family history. In Japan, they often refer to where your family comes from, rather than a job. In England, it tells about your ancestor’s job. But what about other countries?

If I look at my family name, I can tell that someone in my family’s history was an archer. Someone used a bow and arrow. I don’t know when it happened, but that’s where the name originates from.

So, if you’re willing to disclose your family name, what country is it from, and what’s the story behind it? Let’s discuss this in the comments below.