One-Sentence Summaries – Part Two

Yesterday, I posted three one-sentence summaries of future books or series I’ll be writing. If you haven’t read it yet, take a look here. This time, I’ll be writing a few more.

The Knight of Ariadne: Book 1

This is actually the original story I had created along with the map of Ariadne long, long ago. It’s one of my most developed stories, but it won’t be the first written. The title of the trilogy has two meanings, which I’m not going to tell you. Sorry, it’ll be revealed in the book.

  • Character: A young man with enormous power
  • Conflict: Infiltration of Earth forces into the Knights
  • What’s at stake: Freedom and a way of life
  • Action: Train to be a Knight and stop the spies
  • Setting: Ariadne

One young man must become a Knight and use his powers to stop the infiltration by Earth forces, who are determined to undermine freedom and a peaceful way of life.

Not sure what to say here. I think it needs some improvement.

The Knight of Ariadne: Book Two

This is, of course, the sequel. It’s a continuation, but is itself a self-contained story.

  • Character: A young Knight (same character as before)
  • Conflict: A cult-like group saps the energy of other people to plunge Ariadne into chaos
  • What’s at stake: Peace and order
  • Action: The Knight takes charge of a company of Knights and discovers the extent of his powers
  • Setting: Ariadne

Many people fall victim to a cult-like group of energy vampires, while a young Knight uses new powers along with his companions to preserve peace and restore order.

I found this one tough to write. What do you think?

The Knight of Ariadne: Book Three

This if the final part and will bring to close this trilogy. However, it marks a big change in the world, and leads to some interesting future stories.

  • Character: A young Knight (same guy as before)
  • Conflict: The Earth-loyal faction returns to release an alien biological weapon and gain control of an unlimited source of energy
  • What’s at stake: Millions of lives
  • Action: The Knight and his partner seek the Earth-loyal agent to prevent him from achieving his goal
  • Setting: Ariadne

Bitter after repeated failures to control Ariadne, the Earth faction sends its best agent to release an ancient biological weapon and gain control of an unlimited source of energy, but a young Knight and his partner must risk everything to stop the deaths of millions.

Although the third one is longer, I feel more satisfied with it. Oddly, I have an impression of James Bond when I think of the actual story.

What do you think of these three one-sentence summaries? Let me know which ones work for you, and which don’t. I’ll have more for my fantasy stories soon in part three. The comments section below is at your disposal.

4 thoughts on “One-Sentence Summaries – Part Two”

  1. I agree that the third is the strongest.

    A couple things that are jarring to me in the first sentence: 1) I’m not used to “Earth” being the bad guys, which isn’t your problem, but my reaction. 2) I am disturbed by the lack of parallelism in the final phrase “freedom and a peaceful way of life”

    1. 1) It’s actually quite common in science fiction for Earth to have harsh conditions due to climate change or nuclear holocaust, which leads to an authoritarian government. That’s the case here.

      2) I struggled with this bit, to be honest.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.