Week in Review – May 15, 2016

Something to actually update on the writing side of things! More coming soon. But other than that, there have been some other interesting things going on. Some unrelated to the blog, and some related to another blog.

Reading

I did a little bit of reading. I’m now 41% finished Redemption Ark by Alastair Reynolds. More should be coming soon, and you’ll see why.

Writing

I started my writing studio/office project! I’m going to have things set up so that I can write in the privacy of a room filled with boxes. I’ll also be able to read in there, though I don’t think I’ll have much comfort yet. Also, I’ve started making proposals for freelance writing and proofreading. Hopefully, some income will be coming in.

Languages

I haven’t been doing anything with Duolingo in the past week. I really should. It only takes five minutes a day.

Canada

Not much to report, other than the fact that I’m getting interviews.

Videos

With the privacy I’ll be having in my office, I’ll be able to focus more on this. Lots of overdue videos. I’m not sure how many, but close to sixty!

The Blog

I had an interesting response on my Hugo Awards post. I admit I didn’t do a lot of research, but my response is probably what most people get from what they see in the news. While I can understand the Sad Puppies’ stance (they think the Hugo Awards are becoming too literary, among other things), I don’t agree with the tactics, especially by the Rabid Puppies and Vox Day. But this is just my opinion.

I also have to add one other thing about another blog of mine. I’ve started up a new blog! It’s the restaurant review blog I’ve been wanting to start, but it’s still being designed. I already have a couple restaurant reviews to do, and they’re both really good.

Studying

Nothing again!

The Next Week’s Goals

I hope to get the office set up a bit so I can start doing some writing, blogging, reading, and video-making in there. I’m hoping to get a couple freelance jobs, as well. I should focus on three book reviews I still need to do, and I’ll start doing reviews for a TV series or two. It looks like people want me to watch Sherlock, starring Butterscotch Cummerbund.

I mean Benedict Cumberbatch.

How was your week?

2015 Nebula Award Winners

The 2015 Nebula Awards were announced yesterday. And it’s a record number of women winning. In fact, every award given, other than the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, was won by a woman.

The winners are:

  • Novel: Uprooted, by Naomi Novik
  • Novella: Binti, by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Novelette: Our Lady of the Open Road, by Sarah Pinsker
  • Short Story: Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers, by Alyssa Wong

The other two awards were the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation, which was won by Mad Max: Fury Road, written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, and Nick Lathouris, and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, which was won by Updraft, by Fran Wilde.

Congratulations to everyone!