Week in Review – May 1, 2016

Welcome to May! A lot has happened, and lots to tell. And boy is it going to be a hot week this week.

Reading

I haven’t done any. It’s been too long. I need to start reading every day again. I just need a quiet place to go.

Writing

Like reading, I need a quiet place for this. I hope to arrange that this week.

Languages

I did a bit of Esperanto studying, but not a lot.

Canada

This is the area with the biggest news. My wife returned to Canada and is now officially a permanent resident of Canada. Now there are a few things we have to get ready for her, as well as get some other things done. Also, I had an interview for a job!

Videos

None at all. However, I have an idea for YouTube. Since I was an English teacher for eleven years, I may do some brief, and hopefully fun, videos related to teaching English. You know, simple one point lessons.

The Blog

After a slow month, I’m going to try get things back up to speed this month.

Studying

Not at all.

The Next Week’s Goals

I’m going to try get some weekly series going again. In particular, Quick Facts. I’ll start up another next week. Some other things I’m going to try doing are some book reviews, a TV review or two, and start up my restaurant review blog. Already went to a restaurant, so it needs a review!

How was your week?

Month in Review – April 2016

It was a slow month on the blog in April, and the stats reflect that. I didn’t keep up with my previous twice a day posting schedule, but that should resume this month. The number of times I post per day has a direct effect on the stats. After having my two best months ever, I have my worst month since December 2014. Let’s look at the numbers. The month ended with 1285 followers, which is up by only 15.

April Stats

April started off normally, but dropped significantly as my posting changed to once a day. It recovered quite a bit when I posted twice a day as usual, though. The average number of views per day was 89. Only 10 out of 30 days were over 100 views, none reached 200. The best day of the month was April 25th with 151 views. The total number of views in April was 2,664, which is the 19th time in a row over 2,000 views. The month ended with 76,579 views. There were 49 posts in April, which brings it up to 1,752 posts total.

In April, there were 546 comments, which brings it up to a total of 13,932 comments.

The top ten countries were:

  1. United States (1,211 views)
  2. Canada (454 views)
  3. United Kingdom (326 views)
  4. Japan (243 views)
  5. Australia (69 views)
  6. India (35 views)
  7. Brazil (25 views)
  8. France (23 views)
  9. Spain (20 views)
  10. Ireland (19 views)

Top Posts

The top five posts in April were:

  1. Culture Shock of a Four-Year-Old in Canada (72 views)
  2. Authors Answer 74 – What We Are Working on Now (68 views)
  3. Japanese School for My Daughter (53 views)
  4. Authors Answer 77 – Naming Characters (48 views)
  5. Our Odyssey to Canada (46 views)

The most popular post written before April was once again INTJ – An Analysis of My Personality with 45 views. That’s the second time in a row.

April was a slow month, and as a result of posting once a day and not using social media as much as I normally do (I’m still catching up!), many posts didn’t perform well. But they still deserve to be seen. Check out these posts:

Reviews

None at all this month. I found I didn’t have enough time to really concentrate on it. However, I almost wrote a TV series review.

Social Media

On Twitter, I have 3,260 followers, which is an increase of 28.  I follow 3,210, which is up by 41. I finished with 8,543 tweets, with only 80 coming in April.

On YouTube, I uploaded 0 videos in April.  I have 51 subscribers, which is an increase of 1 from last month.  The month ended with 9,680 views, which is an increase of 133. I have a lot of videos to edit and upload about our move to Canada, as well as many videos about sightseeing in Japan to do. Hoping to do some this month.

Looking Ahead to May

A lot of the things we’ve needed to do have been finished. There are still some things to do, but I think a routine can be reestablished for this month, starting today. I’m going to resume my weekly series as well as I can.

You can expect some reviews this month, including TV reviews. Having access to Netflix is nice.

Resuming writing depends on how fast I can move to a room that’s filled with boxes, though it has a desk. It’s going to be sort of an office for me, and I’ll be away from TVs.

Social media is a big thing for this month, as well. I’m going to push to get caught up, then stay caught up. It’ll be a busy month for that.

Thank to everyone for sticking through my busy month with the lack of the expect twice daily posts. I’ll be getting back up to speed this month!