City Living: I Want to Be in a Forest

I live in the world’s largest metropolitan area, the Greater Tokyo area with a population of around 36 million people.  I’m near the southwestern part of it, but nearly everything around me city. There are farms not far from here, but they’re crisscrossed by roads, houses here and there, and never far from a convenience store.  Last week, I went hiking in Kamakura. Occasionally, I saw houses and buildings from high up on the hiking trail, but I felt more secluded than I’d felt in a very long time. I know a part of the trail (that we didn’t go on) that is completely closed off from the rest of the city. No sounds, no sign of civilisation. It’s in a forested valley with a small stream and absolutely peaceful.  Kind of like this viral video.

Nice, huh? I want to go to the real countryside and go walking in a real forest that’s actually not surrounded by a great metropolis. And there, I want to walk around, look at the trees, listen to the sounds of the birds, and have a nice relaxing time. That’s where I want to be right now.

Where do you want to be?