10 Things I Will Miss About Japan

320px-Flag_of_Japan.svg10 years in Japan means Japan feels like home.  But in a year, we’ll be living in Canada. Of course, I’m going to miss a lot about Japan. Maybe I won’t know what I’ll miss until we’ve been in Canada for a while, but I’ll make some predictions here.  This is what I think I’ll miss about Japan.

1. Sushi and Sashimi

It seems I talk a lot about food. I love sushi and sashimi.  Sure, I can get it in Canada, but it’s not nearly as good as the sushi and sashimi in Japan.

2. Temples and Shrines

I love the old architecture, and I really enjoy visiting temples and shrines.  Can’t do that in Canada.

3. The Weather

I prefer Japanese weather.  Winter is warmer than in Canada.  Summer is very hot and humid, but I’m so used to it, Canadian summer nights will feel cold.

4. Seasonal Fanta Flavours

There are often new flavours of Fanta other than the standard orange, grape, and melon. You can often find flavours like apple, pear, muscat, peach, and so on. I’d like to see melon in Canada.

5. Trains

The highly efficient train system in Japan is incredible.  There’s nothing like it in Canada.  In Canada, there are systems in major cities, but they still aren’t as extensive as the ones in Japan. And it’s easy to travel between cities, any city, by train in Japan.  In Canada, you have to drive, take the bus, or fly.

6. Convenient Convenience Stores

They’re truly convenient in Japan.  You can be anywhere and find one within five to ten minutes.  In Canada, you have to drive to find one. And unlike Canadian convenience stores, you can find prepared meals. It’s mainly just snacks and drinks in Canada, though you can also get some hot foods like hot dogs in Canada.

7. Gyudon

Tokyo Express in Edmonton sells beef bowls, but there’s nothing like the ones in Japan.  I’ve checked menus of various Japanese restaurants in Edmonton, and none of them have real Japanese gyudon. I love it, and I think it would succeed in Canada.

8. Gardens

Japanese gardens are incredible.  There are imitations, like at Devonian Botanical Gardens near Edmonton and at Butchart Gardens in Victoria, but they’re not authentic.  I love the authentic Japanese gardens here.

9. Yakiniku

Sure, there are some places you can get something like yakiniku in Canada, but it’s so expensive.  And it’s not like in Japan where you cook it yourself.

10. Curry

Canada has a lot of Indian people, so curry is easy to find.  However, Japanese curry is not easy to find. I love Japanese curry, and want to find a good supply of it. Maybe some will be okay to use.  I hope.

Of course, there’s a lot more I’d miss.  Do you have any suggestions? I’ll let you know if I’d miss it or not.

Got a Book Vlog? Try These.

Oh look, it’s Authors Answer regular and one of my top commenters, S. R. Carrillo!

And there’s another Authors Answer contributor, Tracy Lynn Tobin!

You can even check out my channel, here.  But I haven’t really done much in the way of book videos. I recommend subscribing to all three channels above.

If you have a book vlog on YouTube, let me know in the comments below so I can subscribe! And others can subscribe, too.