Parenting While Male? You’re Incapable

Imagine you’re walking through a park with a playground and you see many children, many mothers, and one man sitting on a bench.  He’s watching the children. What’s your first thought about him?

Now, imagine some of the mothers go over to him and confront him, saying that he’s making them uncomfortable watching the children. Of course, he sighs and says as cheerfully as possible that he’s watching his children. He’s a stay at home dad or he works from home and is taking a break with his children at the playground.  And then this happens:

Do you think he’s been unfairly treated? Or do you think the woman is right?

I’m definitely on the dad’s side. The woman is one of those people who thinks dads can’t take care of their own children and must have advice all the time or be told what he’s doing wrong. I’ve heard the stories, and it seems that dads who take care of their kids may be discriminated against.  Sometimes, moms think they’re kidnappers or pedophiles.

Here in Japan, I am happy to see that there are many younger fathers who take care of their kids along with their wives. However, many men are absent because they work long hours of overtime or go out with their boss after work (they often have no choice). But when I go out with my daughter to the playground, I’ve found that I’ve been approached by mothers who ask me how old my daughter is. As for the occasional father I see with their kids, they seem to be glad to see another father.

What I wonder is what it’ll be like in Canada if I take my daughter to the playground and watch her along with a few mothers. Will I get some of the same attitude as in the video? If they think I must have a difficult time and I’m incapable of taking care of my daughter, I’m of a mind to say that it must be sad for them to have a husband who doesn’t know how to be a parent.

Society needs to accept that fathers can be just as good a parent as mothers.

If you’re a parent, have you seen or experienced this kind of situation?

Choose My Best Instagram Photos – Round 1, Group 2

It’s time for another look at some Instagram photos and a vote on your favourites. As I look at my older pictures, I realise how much better my newer ones are. But there are some good ones amongst my older photos.

The rules are simple. I post 10 of my Instagram photos every 2 or 3 days, and you get to vote on your favourites. It’s multiple choice, so please vote for 2 to 4 photos (3 is ideal). Leave a comment saying why you voted the way you did.

So, here are today’s pictures:

Yokohama street from the 5th floor
Yokohama street from the 5th floor

So, please vote!