Improving My Social Media Presence

One of the most important parts of being a self-published author is marketing. And one of the best ways to market is by using social media. But you have to have a pretty good reach and a lot of luck getting people to share your book. At the moment, I’m not published, but I am often marketing my blog posts and videos. I need to improve how I use social media.

Twitter

Today, I’m starting with Twitter. The potential of Twitter is great. Although I have only 3,310 followers, if someone with twice as many followers retweets one of my tweets, my audience grows drastically. It’s a dream for someone who’s marketing their own content for it to go viral. But how do you do that? Well, you need to either have an influencer retweet your tweets or become an influencer on Twitter. These people have a lot of followers who love to share their Tweets. I found a couple resources which seem to be pretty useful. First, there’s a website that provides a list of websites that help you find influencers. The second one is a website that gives you forty steps to become an influencer. I’m going to be trying these out.

What I’ve begun doing is interacting more with my followers. Talking to them, retweeting them, and liking their tweets. If they’re a new follower, I retweet one of their recent tweets. I plan on starting up some lists, as well. And I want to find some influencers who regularly interact with their followers.

YouTube

This is my second focus at the moment. I’m going to be setting up my channel to be more orderly, so there are several sections on my main page that make it more organised and easier to find certain content. I’ll be making videos more regularly, too. I’ll be sharing my videos on social media, and I’ll be commenting on others’ videos.

Facebook

I’m still working out how to increase the popularity of my Facebook page, but I plan on interacting more and providing more interesting content that you don’t find on the blog.

Those are the top three social media sites I use. There are others, of course, and I regularly use them, but I don’t focus as much attention on them as these three. You can only spend so much time using social media, so you have to choose the ones you have the best results from.

Do you have any tips for using social media? What works for you? Let me know in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “Improving My Social Media Presence”

  1. Uh. I must be really behind on this because I had no idea “influencers” were a thing. O.O But I have been looking into the Facebook thing and, apparently, a profile is generally favored over a page because there’s a more personal aspect to it. I don’t honestly see what the difference would be in switching from one to the other, but there’s food for thought, I guess. I just try to stay on top of the hashtags and respond in kind whenever I get an interaction.

    1. Influencers are a thing on Twitter. They can drive people to your Twitter account and they retweet a lot.

      I have a profile and a page on Facebook. My profile is private, though. But to have 2 profiles seems odd to me. I don’t want to have to deal with switching between them all the time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.