Authors Answer 10 – Least Favourite Genres

Last week, we had the favourite genres of authors.  This time, we look at the other side, the least favourite.  Of course, authors usually love to read, but that doesn’t mean they read everything.  It’s very useful to read a wide variety of genres, but what would our authors stay away from?  Let’s find out.  Below is the cover of a book that was voted most hated according to several polls.

twilightQuestion 10: What are your least favourite genres to read?

H. Anthe Davis

I’ve never purposefully read a western.  They don’t appeal to me.  I also avoid most types of romance — modern, historical, suspense, and even paranormal despite the fact that it often crosses over with Urban Fantasy.  (I’m not a big fan of Urban Fantasy either.)   I’m just not interested in stories based on the forging of a romantic relationship.  That being said, I’ve read some good books that were fantasy-romance and one that was a superhero-romance!  I just need the balance to tip more toward the fantasy- or superhero-side than the romance side.

Paul B. Spence

Everything other than science fiction, thrillers, and fantasy.

Tracey Lynn Tobin

Chick lit is definitely right at the top of the list. Sorry ladies, but even though I’m one of you, I just don’t get you. Most of the kinds of things that chick lit stories tend to be about make me gag and pray for the female gender to both lighten up and learn to not take themselves so seriously.

Amy Morris-Jones

I’m not much of a sci-fi fan—although the speculative fiction isn’t bad. It’s the crazy stuff with aliens or weird creatures that I have a hard time wrapping my brain around. I admire those who have the creativity to write it, but I appreciate it only from a safe distance.

D. T. Nova

Is “kids get lost in the wild and/or live miles away from anyone else” considered a genre? I sure had to read enough of it in school for it to seem like one, and possibly because of having it forced on me, I really dislike it now. (Though it can’t be entirely because of that, because I did like the majority of the assigned books that didn’t fall into that category.)

(Seriously, who picks the stuff that’s required reading in school? For me it was 25% classics, 5% popular children’s literature, and 70% crap about kids in the woods.)

S. R. Carrillo

Strictly romance novels put me to sleep. I can’t stop myself from ever wanting to shake my two protagonists and screaming in their faces, “GET YOUR SHIT TOGETHER AND HAVE SEX AND BE HAPPY TOGETHER ALREADY.” But, by the same token, stories with no romance whatsoever, of any genre, also bore me, unless it’s to do with a protagonist who is asexual/aromantic. Otherwise, I feel like I’m being slighted a side of a character I wanna know better.

Jean Davis

Crime and Steampunk. I’ve tried to like both. Really, I have. It would seem that because I enjoy writing dark and violent characters that I should enjoy novels that get inside the heads of those sort of people, but I just can’t seem to get into the books. Same with Steampunk. I like historical and I like sci-fi, but this particular blending hasn’t grabbed my interest enough to get me past chapter three of a book yet.

Caren Rich

Romance and horror.  I don’t even have to think about this.  I have read romance, but I’ve out grown it.  I have “accidentally” read a few recent romances, but there was more to it than just a love story.  I don’t read horror because I don’t like to be scared.  My brain makes it so much worse.

Linda G. Hill

Westerns. Cowboys and Indians always feel slightly dusty and leave me wanting to drink… and not water.

Elizabeth Rhodes

My least favorite genre is romance.  There’s no real reason for it, but romance just doesn’t do it for me.  I’m also unlikely to read comedy.  Keeping in mind the previous week’s question, perhaps I just take literature too seriously.

Jay Dee Archer

Romance is my least favourite.  I won’t touch it.  It’s not written for my demographic, anyway.  I don’t particularly like novels written for teens that are filled with angst, like a certain sparkly vampire series, either.

How about you?

Is there a genre that you just won’t touch?  Let us know in the comments below.

28 thoughts on “Authors Answer 10 – Least Favourite Genres”

  1. What’s on my “won’t touch with a ten foot pole” list? Well, Twilight is right up there. But in actuality, I’d have to say romances. I don’t mind romances when they’re side plots in the novels I read, but not if the entire story is about romance. That stuff just bores me to tears.

  2. Thanks, but personally I did enjoy Twilight. Congrats to those who hate it because of its target audience. Eternal life, debates on what it would cost to live forever, what you’d be willing to give up, and the frustrations with how it could be selfish to be with someone.

    I don’t have a least favorite genre, and I have picked up and enjoyed random books.

    1. I only chose Twilight because it came up on a search for most hated books. It was rated first in many cases. Anyway, the theme doesn’t interest me. Actually, vampires in general don’t interest me, including Dracula. It may change in the future, though.

      Thanks for the comment!

    2. Why assume that the people who hate it do so because of its target audience? The same story, with a female lead who was more… well, more of a person in her own right, rather than a blank, would have made for a FAR better story. (Yes, I’ve read all 4 books. Didn’t want to, but I did it so someone else wouldn’t have to. The things we do for family sometimes… *shakes head*) It’s not the subgenre that gets the Twilight series so much hate; it’s the fact that the story is not a good example of its subgenre.

      Also, there are some creepy things in those books, and not creepy in a ‘scary story’ sort of way.

  3. I won’t read anything that belongs in the ‘vampire-werewolf-rutabaga love triangle’ subgenre of whatever. (Back in my day, urban fantasy was stuff like Emma Bull’s novel War for the Oaks or Charles de Lint’s Newford stories. Now it seems to be mostly about supernatural creatures having sex.)

    I generally don’t like vampire stories at all. I do like all of C. S. Friedman’s novels, many of which feature characters who are vampires of one sort or another. Perhaps part of why I like those novels -despite- the vampires is that the characters aren’t the Fashionably Angsty Children of the Night.

    1. Urban fantasy is something I’ve hardly read. I have a little, but I’m far more interested in the wizard/elf/dwarf type of fantasy or more original fantasy.

  4. Interesting variety to the answers, also interesting to see the different opinions on what romance is in books from other authors. I think the romance genre varies greatly from one book to another.

    Though, even as a romance writer, I can see why some would shy away from it.

    1. Yeah, I think romance is a love/hate kind of thing. I don’t mind romance itself, as long as it’s more realistic, and not the focus of the book. I’ve read many fantasy and sci-fi novels that include romance, and that’s perfectly fine. I quite liked the romance part of Rise of Endymion, which was my second most favourite book I read last year.

  5. I kinda wish I had seen the other answers befits giving mine because I am not at all against romance. Especially if it’s part of a bigger plot but is also itself a big part of the plot. I like romance that complements, filigrees, is integral.

    About urban fantasy – I like that it’s all supernatural creatures having sex :] (saw that comment somewhere in here).

    Anyway I actually love romance – so long as it’s not of the “we’re attracted to each other but let’s dance around the issue for 300 pages instead of sitting down like adults and deciding to be together” variety… or the love triangle variety.

    1. Romance as one element is no problem for me. Being the focus is not interesting to me.

      Last urban fantasy I read (Angel Fire East by Terry Brooks) is clean, although it did feature a character who had a child when she was a teenager and is now a drug addict.

  6. I’ve learned never to say “never”, as I’ve read all kinds of fiction that I ended up liking. I tend to believe there is at least one novel in every genre I could connect with. Doesn’t mean it will make me want to read others in that genre, however.

    What I try to stay away from, in any genre, is books that have rape scenes in them or other sexual violence. When I have read books with those elements, it is rare that I agree that it serves the story and almost always feels like it is done for shock value or puerile entertainment value.

    1. I see a lot of rape and sexual violence in Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, as well as some in Terry Goodkind’s Wizard’s First Rule. I think in those cases, it shows how awful it is.

  7. Reblogged this on The War of Memory Project and commented:
    Alas, poor romance gets a slating here — from me among many others. I kind of agree with S. R. Carrillo though, that it’s nice to see characters’ relationships as long as they’re not the sole focus of the tale. (Also I appreciate the asexual/aromantic note.)

  8. I have to say I’m another that struggles with Romance, which is a shame as I wish I liked it enough to write it because it’s so damn popular. In the past I would have said chick-lit but I read a chick-lit novel recently that I really enjoyed. Other than that, my tastes are quite broad.

  9. It seems that Romances aren’t at all popular – and I totally agree. Although I like an element of romance / love in a novel – it’s part of everyday life after all – I hate novels that have no plot other than the deveopment of the ‘romance’ itself.

  10. Romance? Used to be addicted to Harlequin/Silhouette, now read them only if there is a murder mystery included. Jayne Ann Krentz and Nora Roberts and Linda Howard have me bouncing on my toes waiting for the next in all their series. Westerns? Love Max Brand and Zane Grey. Sci-fi? Go to the conventions and love Lois McMaster Bujold’s series about Miles, and too many others to name. Fantasy? Eh, Laurell K Hamilton’s Merry Gentry series. The Anita Blake series doesn’t do anything for me. Shifter stories, a genre all their own. Laura Jo Phillips’ series, because the plotline of good vs evil is so well carried out, growing in complexity until the climax, and then continuing into the new generation as the children mature. Alien sex explained biologically, making the scenes necessary, not kinky or lurid. The operatic drama of Kathi S Barton, the dragons and knights of Bianca D’Arc, the humor and drama of S. E. Smith. The only books I don’t like are badly written ones.

    1. Bujold does do a great job of weaving in romance into her science fiction in such a way that it is, or at least can be, appealing to fans of the romance genre. At the same time, it isn’t soooo romantic that it makes you feel like it should not be shelved in science fiction. She really is a skilled storyteller.

    2. You know, westerns are something I never considered reading. I was never a fan of western movies, but I always watched the Lone Ranger on Sunday mornings with my dad when I was young. I liked that show. My grandfather always read westerns. He was a big western fan (and he was a German born in Russia).

Leave a Reply

