Week in Review – July 31, 2016

Not often that the week in review falls on the last day of the month. I have a month in review to do after this! It’s been a very interesting week. A couple big things happened, both on YouTube and on this blog. It’s all fun stuff, though. I also upgraded my computer to Windows 10. No problems!

Reading

My month ended with Redemption Ark at 53%. I really need to try to finish it in August.

Writing

A lot of thoughts about it, but none happened.

Videos

In the past week, I did 10 videos. 8 on my main channel and 2 on my vlog channel. Something big happened. Two of my videos this past week went kind of viral. I took a couple videos of a big thunderstorm we had, as well as the flooding that resulted. Combined, the two videos amassed more than 2,000 views! The flooding video became my most popular video ever.

Patreon

Nothing yet.

Languages

I should be working on this, but I was so busy with other things.

The Blog

I started something exciting! Well, I’m excited about it. The Star Trek Project has begun, and I’ve reviewed the first episode of the original Star Trek. I’ll be doing every episode of every Star Trek series. I’m even doing a video version of it. I just haven’t edited the intro and first episode videos yet.

Studying

Nothing.

The Next Week’s Goals

Since it’s a new month, it’s a fresh start. I’m going to get to work on reviews. Really! And I’m going to get the Authors Answer index up-to-date. Also, I’m going to create a page dedicated to The Star Trek Project. I’m taking a couple days off from videos, as I did 10 in the past week. I’ll get the Star Trek ones done tonight or tomorrow, though. I’m looking forward to it! Feeling excited.

How was your week? Let me know in the comments!

Controversial Opinions?

Facebook shares, news articles, and Trump. What do they have in common? A good amount of anti-science garbage. There are times when you see your friends and family sharing things from David Avocado Wolfe or Food Babe, or you see news articles about the new Ark Encounter in Kentucky or Texas school boards trying to get Creationism in science textbooks, or you hear Trump talk about how climate change is a conspiracy or that vaccines cause autism, and you just want to slap some common sense into people.

So, here it is. Vaccines do not cause autism. There is no evidence. Climate change is happening. There’s a ton of evidence. There was no global flood in 2348 BC. There is no evidence, and a lot of civilisations were around at that time with no record of any such flood (not to mention they didn’t realise that they supposedly disappeared, when they most certainly did not). Non-avian dinosaurs did not live at the same time as humans. They predate modern humans by around 65 million years. Evolution happens. Yes, it has been observed (quite easy when you look at microbes). There’s no evidence of any kind of damage or sickness from eating genetically modified foods. Remember, pretty much all cultivated foods that we eat have been modified over centuries or millennia. You can’t avoid chemicals in food. Everything is made up of chemicals. Water is a chemical. Protein is a chemical. Want to avoid chemicals? Then don’t eat, drink, or breathe.

Anti-intellectualism is incredible strong, especially in the United States. Look at the Republican Party’s candidate for President. It’s a scary situation if he gets elected. People need to be educated. Science is something that doesn’t rely on emotion. The science doesn’t change if you believe it or not. It’s still true. A ball falls whether you believe it or not. The Theory of Gravity isn’t “just a theory.” Cells exist in your body, they divide, and they have a structure whether you believe it or not. Cell Theory isn’t “Just a theory.” Dinosaurs existed and they still exist in the form of birds whether you believe it or not. The Theory of Evolution isn’t “just a theory.” Scientific theories aren’t something you can dismiss as “just a theory.” They are an explanation of observable facts. They’re not a guess.

Don’t agree with me? That’s fine. You don’t have to agree with me. The science will still be true. It doesn’t need your approval to be true.