Book Accessories: Bookmarks

I often talk about books, since this is mainly a book blog. But I don’t think I’ve ever talked about bookmarks before. They’re very useful pieces of paper, don’t you think?

Whenever I went shopping at Yurindo in Yokohama, they sometimes gave me a bookmark. I used them until they wore out, then I didn’t go shopping for books for a long time. And then, I used this:

It’s a receipt. And not just any receipt, but a receipt from a convenience store in Japan. I’ve been using that same receipt as a bookmark for at least a couple years.

Think I should use an actual bookmark? I watched a video on YouTube where the person asked his viewers if they could mail him bookmarks and postcards, if they liked. I like that idea, and even thought about it myself. If I could get a post office box, I’d do it. It sounds like fun.

When you read books, do you use a bookmark? What’s your bookmark like? Or do you dog ear the pages? Let me know in the comments below.

Reading in June and July

As I’ve mentioned before, I really have to start reading more again. I’ve slowed down far too much. The book I’m reading right now has taken me so long to read, but it’s not because of the book. I’m really enjoying it.

I decided to start making videos each month talking about the books I read in the month that just finished and what I’d like to read in the current month. So, here it is:

I feel like I’m going to keep talking about Redemption Ark, but I want to finish it! The next two books are much shorter, and should be a lot easier to get through. And best of all, they’re newer books that I just got. It’ll be great to read more recently written books.

Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments below.