Edmonton Storm Update: Flooding!

Not far from where I live, there’s a storm water facility that doubles as a habitat for water birds and is also a pretty pleasant park. Well, because of the heavy rain (see my other post about it here), it flooded. And I took a video!

It was quite the scene when I went down there. But this is the purpose of the pond. It provides a place for storm water to go, and prevents flooding at street level in the neighbourhood. Many of the newer neighbourhoods have this kind of planning. Smart idea, isn’t it?

Severe Thunderstorm Here Right Now! (Edmonton)

At this very moment, the second severe thunderstorm in the last couple hours is coming through. Strong wind, heavy rain, and very loud thunder accompanying the lightning which has been striking very near here. I recorded some of the first storm on video and posted it on YouTube. Have a look.

While that storm is done, the second one is going through now. The wind was so strong that it made me wonder if there was a tornado. I found out that the tornado that passed through Edmonton in 1987 actually went through the neighbourhood I live in, only about two or three hundred metres from here!

The weather today is crazy. But I love storms. Do you?

More New (Used) Books!

Thanks to a friend of mine who’s moving houses, I’ve added to my collection. They’re used books, but they were free. She may actually read this post. Thanks! And welcome to the neighbourhood (she and her husband are moving only three blocks from us).

So, I made a video about the books I picked up from her soon to be former home. Check out the books!

There were several books in that video I’d never heard of. If you’ve heard of them, let me know what you thought of them. Goodreads didn’t think too highly of the last book! I’m curious how that will turn out.

Comments are very welcome!